Governing Board

President - Dr. Lura Davidson

Adjunct Graduate Instructor for educational leadership development at Concordia University, as well as an educational service provider.  Dr. Davidson works with district/campuses not meeting Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) according to No Child Left Behind; Preparing Future Educational Leaders within school systems.  She has a Doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Missouri. 

- Daniel Guerrero
mayor pic
A native of San Marcos, Mayor Daniel Guerrero is a graduate of San Marcos High School and has an undergraduate degree in Mass Communications from Texas State University. He earned a graduate degree in Organizational Leadership and Ethics from St. Edward's University and has multiple certifications from Austin Community College. He first served in public office as a member of the San Marcos City Council from 2004-2008 and was then elected Mayor from 2010-2016.
Since leaving public office in December of 2016, Daniel now serves as the Assistant Dean of Students for Student Development and Leadership Programs here at Texas State University and also serves as the Director for Special Programs for the Virtual Trade Mission (VTM) Foundation, which facilities international emersion trips to foreign economies so that students may explore international leadership, cultures, businesses and governments.

Member - Dr. Toni Sauncy

Dr. Sauncy is currently the Department Chair in Physics at Texas Lutheran University. Sauncy earned her B.S. in Mathematics (magna cum laude), M.S. in Physics, and Ph.D. in Applied Physics, all at Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas. She was a full professor at Angelo State University (2000-20014), and was appointed the Director of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) and Sigma Pi Sigma at the American Institute of Physics (AIP) (2012-2014). While at AIP, Sauncy took on the challenge of leading the NSF-Funded AIP Career Pathways project that has resulted in important new resources for undergraduate physics departments and physics students.  Sauncy has a history of proven leadership as demonstrated by her service on numerous collegiate and professional association committees, including committees of the American Physical Society, American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and SPS. Her leadership has been recognized several awards, including Angelo State University President's Faculty Excellence in Leadership & Service Award (2010), the SPS Outstanding Chapter Advisor award (2007), Outstanding Service Commendation from the Society of Physics Students National Council (2014), and the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Outstanding Service from AAPT (2017).

Member - Dr. Rosina Ruiz Valle
Dr. Valle

Dr. Rosina Ruiz Valle is a proud native of San Marcos. a graduate of San Marcos High School earned an undergraduate degree in Education from South West Texas State (now Texas State). She earned a graduate degree in Education from Sul-Ross University and a PhD in School Improvement from Texas State University.

Rosina retired from San Marcos CISD in 2014. Over the course of 35 years of service, she served as an Elementary Teacher, Reading Specialist, Community Relations Coordinator, At-Risk Student Coordinator, Executive Director for the Education Foundation and the District’s  Director of Early Childhood.

In 2014, she joined the Center for P-16 Initiatives at Texas State and is currently the Associate Director for the Center.  

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.