Governing Board

President - Dr. Lura Davidson

Adjunct Graduate Instructor for educational leadership development at Concordia University, as well as an educational service provider.  Dr. Davidson works with district/campuses not meeting Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) according to No Child Left Behind; Preparing Future Educational Leaders within school systems.  She has a Doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Missouri. 

Vice President - Javier Garcia

Javier Garcia has been an educator within the charter school realm for the last 12 years.  His mission continues to be to provide the most equitable and quality education possible though his leadership as a Principal of a regional charter school.  He first earned his Bachelors in History from George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia.  His education certificate was completed through the post-baccalaureate program at Texas Lutheran University in Seguin, Texas.  His Master in Leadership and policy was completed through Concordia University Texas.  He currently serves as the Principal of Southwest Preparatory School - Southeast Campus in San Antonio, Texas.

- Daniel Guerrero
mayor pic
A native of San Marcos, Mayor Daniel Guerrero is a graduate of San Marcos High School and has an undergraduate degree in Mass Communications from Texas State University. He earned a graduate degree in Organizational Leadership and Ethics from St. Edward's University and has multiple certifications from Austin Community College. He first served in public office as a member of the San Marcos City Council from 2004-2008 and was then elected Mayor from 2010-2016.
Since leaving public office in December of 2016, Daniel now serves as the Assistant Dean of Students for Student Development and Leadership Programs here at Texas State University and also serves as the Director for Special Programs for the Virtual Trade Mission (VTM) Foundation, which facilities international emersion trips to foreign economies so that students may explore international leadership, cultures, businesses and governments.

Member - Dr. Toni Sauncy

Dr. Sauncy is currently the Department Chair in Physics at Texas Lutheran University. Sauncy earned her B.S. in Mathematics (magna cum laude), M.S. in Physics, and Ph.D. in Applied Physics, all at Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas. She was a full professor at Angelo State University (2000-20014), and was appointed the Director of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) and Sigma Pi Sigma at the American Institute of Physics (AIP) (2012-2014). While at AIP, Sauncy took on the challenge of leading the NSF-Funded AIP Career Pathways project that has resulted in important new resources for undergraduate physics departments and physics students.  Sauncy has a history of proven leadership as demonstrated by her service on numerous collegiate and professional association committees, including committees of the American Physical Society, American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and SPS. Her leadership has been recognized several awards, including Angelo State University President's Faculty Excellence in Leadership & Service Award (2010), the SPS Outstanding Chapter Advisor award (2007), Outstanding Service Commendation from the Society of Physics Students National Council (2014), and the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Outstanding Service from AAPT (2017).

Secretary - Sherri Gonzales, MBA

Director of Business Development at San Marcos Treatment Center.  Ms. Gonzales has worked in the psychiatric residential treatment field for almost 30 years, and currently designs and administers contracts and programs for governments, insurance providers, funding agencies and referral sources to place patients and provide for the care they receive.  She holds a Bachelor's and Master's degree in Business Administration from Texas State University, and has one son attending Yale University.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.